Skip to Page Content

AVHRA Legacy Scholarship

    Application for The AVHRA LEGACY Scholarship (SPHR, GPHR or SHRM-SCP)

    The AVHRA Legacy Scholarship was created in memory of Human Resources professionals who were members of AVHRA at the time they became deceased.    

    Member Name Year of Death
    Sharon Connell, SPHR, SHRM-SCP 2015
    Brenda Cossette, SPHR 2013
    Bruce Lake, SPHR 2008
    Margie Kopp, PHR 2005






    This dedicated group of professionals were leaders in their field, at their jobs and in their communities.  They served on SHRM and SHRM affiliate chapter boards and committees, and at the state and national level.  They mentored fellow HR practitioners and served as role models for everyone aspiring to or working in Human Resources.  Each one exemplified the vision of improving business by strengthening the competencies of HR professionals.  They were dedicated to professional excellence and fully supported their peers by encouraging them to seek certification.  Both Brenda Cossette and Sharon Connell were recipients of the North Dakota Award for Professional Excellence, Brenda being the only two-time recipient of the award.

    In honor of the professional dedication and commitment of these past members, current and retired AVHRA members created a scholarship fund to assist members of SHRM Affiliate North Dakota chapters defray the cost of SPHR, GPHR and/or SHRM-SCP exam expenses. 

    Scholarship applications must be submitted four weeks prior to the beginning of testing windows and scholarship dollars will be awarded to individuals who successfully obtain the certification for which they tested.  Scholarship amounts may vary between $100 and $250 based on the number of applicants who apply for and obtain certification credentials.

    AVHRA is North Dakota’s first and only 100% SHRM member chapter.  The purpose of AVHRA is to provide a forum for the personal and professional development of our members and an arena for the development of trust relationships where common HR problems can be discussed and deliberated, with total commitment to confidentiality.   AVHRA members must be current SHRM members in good standing and have five years of exempt level human resources responsibilities.  Because trust relationships and confidentiality are essential to the group, membership is limited to 40 members. 

    Scholarship Applicants:  Please complete the following information and email to Claudia Souba, AVHRA Foundation Chair, at  The deadline for applying is four weeks prior to the opening day of the testing window for the SPHR, GPHR and SHRM-SCP exams.  Scholarship applicants will be notified of the status of their application prior to the first day of the testing window.  After the testing window has closed, applicants who have obtained the certification for which they tested, are required to provide confirmation of credentials to Claudia Souba.  Scholarship amounts may vary based upon the number of applicants who take the exam and obtain certification during the testing window.